The RIGHT way to lose weight

BMR and TDEE???

If I had the ability, I’d give money to anyone who knows what these stand for who aren’t into body building, bikini competitions, etc.

One thing I was aware of, like most others, was BMI. I don’t think I need to go into the drawbacks of BMI, unless someone requests it, of course!

The one point I want to make is that educators and health care providers have been slamming BMI down our throats, but why don’t we know what BMR and TDEE stand for?  Of course, we can always refer to our friend Google for the answer to these mysterious letters, but I feel like this information is something that everyone needs to know.

I feel that the US doesn’t do enough to get this information out. I hope that I’m wrong and there’s plenty of avenues that this information is being pushed, but hoping doesn’t do much good.

So, what is BMR and TDEE? BMR stands for basal metabolic rate. What does that mean? I’ll tell you!

BMR is the number of calories required to keep your body alive, just at rest. That does not include the number of calories your body needs when you begin to walk, talk, or let alone exercise.

Now, BMR is great, but we’re not just sitting around doing nothing all day. That’s where TDEE comes in.

TDEE stands for Total Daily Energy Expenditure, which is the number of calories that your body needs to function in terms of activity. TDEE gives a more accurate number of the amount of calories your body needs per day based on your activity level.

nourish

Calculate your TDEE here! This is not the only calculator for TDEE. There are many others, and I’m sure you’ll find that you may get different numbers each time you use a different calculator.

DON’T PANIC! Try a few and find a happy medium between them! If you find one that is a lot higher, or even a lot lower, stray away from those. I would stay with the ones that are similar in numbers.

If you’re trying to lose weight, there’s no exact answer on how many calories to cut.  I’ve read cutting 500 calories or 15-20% of your TDEE.

I suggest starting with 100 less a week and gradually building from there. You don’t want to starve and this is a way to slowly transition into eating less without having massive side effects.  I am, however, not a doctor. I just feel that makes most sense.

What doesn’t make sense to me is that BMR isn’t on the Center of Disease Control website, but BMI is. I understand that BMI is a disease and controllable.

Riddle me this. How do you control your BMI? Is it by chance watching how much you eat and getting proper exercise? My point is that to prevent BMI we need to know our BMR and definitely our TDEE.

I personally feel that we have to LEARN how to eat. Yes, LEARN! We have to learn how to walk, learn how to talk, and learn how to write. How is learning how to eat any different?

In order to take care of ourselves properly, we have to know how much our body needs. We can’t do that unless we have our TDEE and know how many calories are in the food we are eating.

And THAT is what’s in store for the next post.

Let’s go get ENERGIZED!!!

Leave a Reply

