What you talkin’ about macros?

Protein_Carbs_and_Fats_Eat_Me_Supplements

So, last time I was talking about BMR and TDEE. Now, let’s add a little more to that.

You have your TDEE, which will get you closer to that body composition you’re looking for; however, you need something else. You need to know what your macros are!

What are macros? I’m glad you asked! Macros is short for macronutrients, the three major nutrients your body needs- carbohydrates, protein, fat.

Let me break down the importance of macros for you. Abiding by your TDEE will get you a better body, but, without your macros, counting calories is not the healthiest way to reach your results.

You need to find your macros then! I would start with this calculator on IIFYM (If It Fits Your Macros) and try other calculators as well to find an average.

From there, you can now start counting the calories from the food you eat based on carbs, fats, and proteins. That sounds hard doesn’t it? Actually, it’s not too bad! I’ll help!

There are 4 (four) calories per gram in carbohydrates, 4 (four) calories per gram in protein, and 9 (nine) calories per gram in fat. That’s easy enough…but there’s more… I know, I know. I’m killing you, but just stay with me!

You need to determine how many calories you’re getting from each macro. For example, how do I know how many grams of carbs I need per day based on my daily caloric intake? Luckily for you, most calculators ask you and will break it down for you! However, you still need to determine what those percentages are.

My suggestion is following the 40-30-30 plan. So, 40 percent of your calories comes from carbs, 30 percent comes from protein, and 30 percent comes from fat. No, I did not just make those numbers up! This is from Dr. Barry Sanders’ Zone Diet.

musclebuildingmacrosWhy do I recommend this? I believe what Dr. Sanders says in regards to blood sugar. I was first turned onto this through CrossFit, which I am a CrossFitter, and will be taking the Level 1 certification to be a trainer this weekend (eek!).  Just WAIT for those posts to come!

Anyway, that’s why I suggest the 40-30-30. But, I also suggest you do research yourself. This is your health and body we’re talking about, so take charge and determine what you feel is best for you!

Counting macros will require weighing your food. I can already hear the groans! It may seem like a hassle, but I promise it WILL be worth it! Just get a scale and begin weighing your food.

In fact, let’s do this together. I’ve never dedicated myself to this fully, but I say we go for it and motivate one another to do it! It’s not going to be easy, but I guarantee it will be worth it.

Plus, the more you start weighing and getting familiar with the amounts, you’ll find yourself having to weigh your food less and less! How awesome does that sound?! Ahhmazing!

So, for the next week, I will be weighing and counting all of my food, leading up to my weekend of CrossFit certification madness. I’M PUMPED!

Let’s get energized!

@iifym_memes

Leave a Reply

