Protein bars

I realize I haven’t posted anything in a week. I was on spring break, and boy did I need a break.

I’m a workaholic, so I forced myself not to do any type of work while I was on vacation. Trust me, it was painful to stay away from writing a blog post, but I dug down deep and survived!

Beautiful sunset on the Gulf Coast of Florida

Beautiful sunset on the Gulf Coast of Florida

I’m back now, though, and I want to make this a short one.

While I was on vacation, I was still reading articles. (Some habits are hard to break.) Before discussing the article, I want to first explain my position on  protein bars.

I’m an avid reader, especially when it comes to food labels. I read food labels like it’s my second job. No matter what I’m eating, buying, etc. I’m looking at the food labels first.

I eat a lot of protein bars and I’ve found that they’re not in fact protein, but “sugar” bars. If looked at closely, there’s more sugar in a bar than there is protein. While I was reading, I found an article that backs up my belief of “sugar” bars.

Nutrition label of Black Cherry Almond Clif Bar photo credit: http://www.clifbarstore.com/detail/CLF+160026

Nutrition label of Black Cherry Almond Clif Bar
photo credit: http://www.clifbarstore.com/detail/CLF+160026

It’s an interesting read and reveals the true makeup of what many believe to be a “healthy” alternative for a meal. The lesson learned: read the food labels on all protein bars and see how much sugar you’re actually eating.

 

Let’s get informed, and, most importantly… Let’s get energized!

 

Leave a Reply

