Best way to clean your crockpot

Crockpots are heaven sent. Really. They’re a great time saver when you are already scrapping for every second you can get.

That is, of course, until you have to clean one.

I used the crockpot the other night and what was left after dinner was nothing but a huge mess.

The crockpot had caked on sauce. I’m not just talking about caked on. I’m talking CAKED. ON. My parents come home this week so I had to figure out how to clean this sucker before they got back. (I still live at home while I’m going to school, so everything is inevitably my parents.)

This is equivalent to having a house party while they’re gone and trying to get away with it. Yupp. How’s that for my level of coolness?

So, who do you call to clean a crockpot? GOOGLE!

Soaking the pot wasn’t enough, just to let you know. I had to take drastic measures, which, thankfully, Google answered the call.

Thanks to Crock-Pot Ladies, my crockpot is cleaned and my parents will never ever know. Life is good.

Here’s what I did, taken from Tips for Cleaning Your Crock-Pot:

  1. Put 1/4 cup of baking soda in pot
  2. Add dish soap
  3. Fill water so it covers the messy spots
  4. Cover with lid and heat on high for 2-4 hours

I didn’t even take before pictures to show you. I was too anxious to try to clean this pot! The after pictures are 1,000x better than what it looked like before. You’ll have to take my word for it.

 

Crockpot

 

What you’re seeing on there are stains. I think my next goal will be to figure out how to get rid of those!

 

Let’s get energized!

4 responses to “Best way to clean your crockpot

Leave a Reply

